Jeremy Neely- Cage-Free Eggs

This story sparked my interest as soon as I heard about it in the Daily Athenaeum. I am not a huge activist, but I do appreciate when people go out of their way to find ways to help reduce the suffering caused by mass production of food.
I interviewed Kathy Curtin, the Assistant Director of Dining Services the first day I went to the Towers Dining Hall. She was very easy to interview and provided me with some excellent quotes. While talking to her, I found out that I wasn’t the first to interview her on camera about this subject. I think it was so much easier to get good quotes out of her because she was already familiar with the questions that were most likely to be asked. I did however run into a snag when it came to video.
I interviewed Curtin during the day for a story about breakfast food. There was no way I would be able to get footage of people eating and cooking eggs until the next morning at 8:00 A.M. I did however try and get some footage of students eating in the dining hall. About fifteen minutes into shooting I saw that I was being watched by this guy working in the dining hall. He slowly made his way over to me and began trying to figure out whether or not he should let me film. We talked for about twenty minutes about everything from the coal mining he used to do, to how he is trying to change up the dining hall experience. I gave up on filming shortly after finishing my talk with him.
The next morning I was at the Dining Hall bright and early at 8:00 A.M. to start shooting. I was able to get great footage of the cooks making omelets for the students. It was the second to last day of classes and St. Patrick day, so everybody was pretty light hearted. At one point the cook grabbed a students beer mug hat and started making jokes while cooking.
All and all the story came together very well. I had an interesting time chatting with everyone at the W-V-U Dining Hall. Again I am glad that someone has taken a stance to help defend theses animals. From what Kathy Curtin was saying, it is looking like W-V-U as a whole is looking for every way possible to make its campus as sustainable as possible. Thankfully someone is trying to make a difference.

WBOY Cage-Free Eggs


Daily Athenaeum Cage-Free Eggs


Humane Society Cage-Free Eggs

CAGE-FREE EGGS YOUTUBE LINK

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

