Adam – Rail Trail Construction

I decided to do my story on the rail trail  for a couple reasons. First, I wanted to do something that I knew I could turn around in a few days. I could get quality b-roll, contact and interview someone about the trail, and put it all together. Second, I saw the construction while riding the PRT and thought it would be a good story because more and more people will want to use the trails during the summer. Plus, I wanted to find out for myself why the construction was for.

 I decided that because my VOSOT was going to be short, I need my b-roll to do a lot of the talking for me. I went down to the trail and spent a couple hours finding and filming the construction. It was really hot and I looked like I ran a marathon on the trail when I was done, but I got some good shots. I filmed people walking, running, riding bikes, and enjoying the trail. I also got several shots of the construction. I filmed the barriers blocking the trail from users, yet while I did this, some people ignored the signs and went through the construction area anyway. I filmed shots from the ground of cones blocking the area as well.

For my interview I wanted to get someone with knowledge of the construction and how it was affecting trail users. I decided to contact Anita Mayer, President Mon River Trail Conservancy, because I thought she would provide the answers I needed. She was gracious enough to let me interview her and provided an aspect of how the construction impacted commuters that use the trails every day to get to work. I never really thought of this and decided that if I hadn’t thought about this that maybe other people hadn’t either and this would be how I would shape my VOSOT.

In the end, I put together a VOSOT that I thought would inform the audience of an issue and provide a view of this issue that might be new to them. I learned something about this issue and I hope the audience did as well. While everything came together, I did have some issues. I was not familiar with the new camera and it took me some time to figure out how to work the audio. I didn’t have any nat sound for my b-roll, but worked to fix it. My interview had an issue with the audio, but it worked out ok.

Overall, I’m happy will my VOSOT.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

