Rodney-Tuition Increase

Wow, believe it or not, this is my final blog post for this abbreviated semester.  I hope those of you who read this won’t be too disappointed by my absence from here on out.  I know, it’s like we just reached a point where we were starting to get to know one another, and then it ends.

So, for my third VOSOT, I did a story about the WVU Board of Governors’ recent decision to raise the tuition rate at WVU for the 2011-2012 school year.  Specifically, it is a 4.95% increase, which amounts to $268 for in-state students and $842 for out-of-state students.  The revenues from tuition and fees will partially fund a $200 million bond that will be used to fund various projects around campus.  The university is attempting to implement its 2020 strategic plan, and money will surely play a big role in its success, especially with the large number of projects being planned and carried out over the next several years.

Honestly, I didn’t think I was even going to get to do this story at all.  I wrote a beat report on it, but I considered finding a different idea altogether because I didn’t think my news director would want me to cover this one.  It’s a good thing I didn’t do that, because I was wrong.  Things worked out pretty well in the end.

As with my first VOSOT, I went with a real person to tell this story.  I was able to get input from a student named Nick, someone who will be directly affected by this increase.  The story can be told with officials who know the ins and outs of the actual decision, but to get a sense of the potential impact these decisions can have, it is important to get a student’s perspective.

As you can see, Nick has concerns for his future at WVU.  He is an out-of-state student, which means he will have to pay over $800 more next year for tuition.  The tuition and fees rate for a student like him is currently $17,000 per year, but it is common practice for colleges to charge much more for out-of-state students.  I’ve never been sure of the reason for such drastic price differences.  I should look that up sometime.

As per tradition on my posts, I leave you with a bit more from my interview with Nick, as he goes into more detail about his situation.

If you missed my first or second stories, you can catch up on them here and here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

