Getting To Know “Soup Camel Music”

When we decided that our first multimedia project was going to be on a band called “Soup Camel Music,” I had no clue what to think. I went on their Facebook page to listen to some of the band’s music, and I felt even more lost.

“Soup Camel Music” is a blues/folk band, and I had never listened to any kind of music like that. The best way to learn about their music was go listen to them play. My partner, Ashton, and I went to the band’s rehearsal and met everyone in the band for the first time.

Within five minutes of being there, Ashton and I could tell that this wasn’t your ordinary band. They hardly even knew us and were already joking around with us.

They played a few songs for us, and I was pleasantly surprised at how good they were. I fully expected to hear just another average garage band, but they were anything but that. They sounded like a professional group; however, they made sure to tell us that they are not a professionals, they are just friends who like having a good time and playing music.

"Soup Camel Music" rehearsing at Roland's shop.

Ashton and I interviewed the man the band is named after, Soup Camel, and he was able to give us more insight into his group and the music they play. He told us everything from how the band came together to how they portray different characters on stage.

It was really interesting to get to know Soup, and get his view on the band. We eventually interviewed all of its members, and their personalities were amazing.

It was easy to see why they all get along so well. They just like having a good time, and they all have a passion for music.

After we met with the band at their rehearsal space, which is in Soup’s wood shop, we went with them to the recording studio.

Soup in the recording studio.

I thought they would be a little different in the studio, maybe a little more serious, but they were just as easy going and fun to as they were in their rehearsal. I really appreciated the fact that they were just regular people who make really good music.

As for the print side of things, titled West Virginia Has The Blues, Carl and Rebecca used “Soup Camel Music” as a starting point to focus on the state’s history in blues music. None of us thought blues would have the rich past they soon discovered.

It’s a southern genre that worked its way into West Virginia, and has taken shape in many groups over the years, including “Soup Camel Music.”

I’m glad I was able to meet the four members of this group, and get a chance to work with them. Going in to this project, I wasn’t sure how willing the band would be to go on camera and do all of the interviews, but they did whatever we asked them to do.

After getting to know the members of “Soup Camel Music,” I really wanted this video to be something they would like, and something they could use to help promote their band.

I hope they like it, and I hope everyone who watches the video will appreciate how unique this group of musicians is.

— Chris Williams

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

